Wanting to Transfer

I just got back from winter break and am beginning my 2nd semester of Freshman year. I am an out of state student and the second I got on the plane, I was overwhelmed with anxiety about going back. I had a tough 1st semester and was constantly having trouble with relationships with friends and romance, but I thought I enjoyed myself. However, almost as soon as i got back, I started feeling like I wanted to transfer and change my major. I just want to start over, but I’m afraid I’m getting ahead of myself because I tend to go down slippery slopes the second I start feeling weird about something. I didn’t feel homesick at all in the 1st semester, but I always enjoyed going home when I could. I also have a friend who goes to school in the state that I’m from and she considers her school and its town to be her “new home.” I don’t feel that at all at my school. Should I consider transferring or am I just homesick?

1 Like

Nobody here can really answer that for you… but we can say that

1. you seem to recognize a pattern from the past that you want to watch out for;
  2. everybody settles in at their own rate- your friend is herself, you are yourself, so comparing is not helpful;
  3. a good third of students change from their originally planned major; for most it does not require transferring;
  4. if the hard part of 1st semester was largely social, the first little while back may leave you feeling almost new again- not really ‘part’ of the community, which in turn makes it easier to consider tossing it all out and starting over;
  5. you have a little time to think about it: many application deadlines for transfer are in March and April; and
  6. every year we see a lot of students apply to transfer and then when acceptances come in realize that they have actually settled in and don’t want to leave!