What are some advice for future Purdue Engineering Students?

<p>Hello!</p>

<p>I was admitted to Purdue University as an engineering major back in November
and I guess now I finally narrowed it down and Purdue seems the school I will most likely attend this fall! I have heard around cc forums and online that Purdue's engineering course load is pretty difficult and I'm assuming that pretty much speaks for itself since is tied for 9th in the country. </p>

<p>I was wondering if any current engineering students at Purdue could give some advice and other things we should know in terms of topics and subjects before going to the school? I really wish to go there and have fun as well so maybe some things that students enjoy participating in or doing at the school as well :) </p>

<p>Thank you!
Dysfunctional</p>

<p>First of, congrats! I’m a sophomore in Civil Engineering at Purdue.</p>

<p>No matter what, you’re going to be taking Calc 1-3, Chemistry 1, Physics, ENGR 131-132 (unless you are in honors, which is ENGR 195). Please don’t ever get in the mindset of “This class doesn’t matter, I won’t use it.” Work your hardest for every class, and you’ll be rewarded (After freshman year I had a 3.91 due to 2 A-'s, the rest were A’s). Go to all your classes, no matter what. Use “ratemyprofessor . com” with a grain of salt to help you get good professors. Definitely spend time thinking about what major you’d like to go into. Don’t overload yourself! 18 credit hours can be a lot! Also, look into EPICS (I’m pretty sure I got internship offers because I showed how much I did in EPICS). </p>

<p>For fun: Clubs? </p>

<p>If you have any more questions, I can try to help. You can do it! :)</p>

<p>Seirsly: Good advice. Is the EPICS program you refer to the “Learning Community” that freshmen can apply to get into? Thanks.</p>

<p>EPICS: <a href=“https://engineering.purdue.edu/EPICS[/url]”>https://engineering.purdue.edu/EPICS&lt;/a&gt;