What is best for me?

Hello all,

I am a Texas resident and I am trying to decide between A&M and UT. I have been accepted to Undergraduate Studies at UT and Engineering at A&M. I had my mind set on UT, but earlier today I was notified of my acceptance into the honors engineering program at A&M. I like the idea of engineering, and I have always wanted to study it, but I don’t really know if it is the right fit for me. Most of my friends are accepted/going to UT, and I can’t help but feel like I would be making the biggest mistake of my life yet by passing up on either offer (Great social scene/academics at UT vs. great opportunity and amazing engineering program at A&M). What do you guys think? What are the advantages of each?

I post this here because I know more about UT, not to spark conflict/animosity. I’ve visited A&M very shortly and didn’t enjoy College Station too much at first, but then again I haven’t had enough time to explore it.

Thanks!

UT’s engineering program is on par (if not slightly better) with A&M’s. So you should rest assured that both schools are great opportunities for engineering students and base your decision on other aspects.

Personally, if I was in your position I’d choose UT since you said most of your friends are going there. Then again, it may be a great experience to start off fresh and make new friends, so TAMU would be the ideal choice in that regard.

Honestly I don’t think either school really has a substantial advantage over the other, so it all comes down to your personal preference.

You are the first person I have seen that has been admitted UGS to UT. Did you not apply to Engineering? Most applicants to engineering there have been accepted or are still waiting.