What is going on with UChicago Admissions?

What is going on with UChicago?

Hello everyone I’m an EA admitted student at UChicago and have been doing a ton of research comparing it to other schools. What’s stuck out to me in a lot of ways is the way it is distinctly different from other “top” schools in the way it’s done admissions in recent years. I go to private school in Texas, and for the past few years, often more students will go to UChicago than any school excluding Texas A&M or UT Austin. Even more than all of the Ivies+MIT+Stanford combined. The more I’ve looked into this, the stranger it’s gotten. Here are some things I’ve noticed that are odd, and I would like to hear y’alls’ thoughts on them.

1. Boarding Schools and Private Schools
    This is not unique to my school, as seen in this post from a few years ago. UChicago is Tops at Top Prep Schools As pointed out in this thread, it appears as if Chicago is feeding very heavily from top prep schools at the expense of accepting broadly from other schools. While this is nice for good but not Ivy-good students at prep schools, it comes at the expense of students from a much broader range of schools. (I have many friends at extremely good public schools who are generally a notch or two above some of my admitted school classmates, for example.) One peer private school in Texas last year allegedly had more than eighteen students attend UChicago. This is about 10% of their class. My school uses a service known as College Kickstart that sometimes lists school-specific admissions data to help contextualize a student’s application to various schools. It gave the EDII acceptance rate to Chicago from my school as 87%. This strikes me as absurd. Is all this just their strategy to hunt down full-pay students while remaining need-blind, or is something else going on here?
  2. International Students