What Is Your Favorite Part of The University of Michigan?

Hi! I am currently a sophomore at The University of Michigan and I am wondering what people think separates Ann Arbor from other schools across the country? What makes the University of Michigan as special as it is?

The more replies, the better! I hope to get a lot of your opinions!

For example, my favorite part of Ann Arbor is that there is a city-side and a country-side to campus. You can walk to South State Street or Main Street to witness a city-life atmosphere, and you can go to the Diag to witness a greener, cleaner environment!

Looking forward to reading and interacting to everyone’s responses!!!

I will play since it’s slow here now… I love the Arb. Students usually don’t discover it right away. It’s like taking an adventure but on campus and it’s beautiful. Great place to go chill or do homework.

https://mbgna.umich.edu/nichols-arboretum/

1 Like

The marching band…it is terrific. Not quite as good as tOSU band…but still great.

1 Like

Full disclosure - I was a student in the 90s. But, I don’t live far and am on campus 10 times a year … so I haven’t lost touch.

1. Love the Arb - if you live on the Hill, more likely to wander over there – but everyone should check it out. It’s a great walk, refresh, “forest bathing”, etc.
  2. Restaurants. The rich market of a thriving college town makes the restaurant options & cuisines above average – and with a full range of price points. While you are a student – try new foods.
  3. Sports. I am not the sportiest person – but it’s really cool to attend college sports - and UM has a lot. Not just football (which I love going to football games). Also - you should check out other sports- hockey, volleyball, gymnastics, swim… AND - if you are student - I highly recommend trying intramural sports. It’s like gym class…great way to destress.