What kind of work do Foreign Language Majors do?

So, I’m an incoming freshman this year to college and I am currently juggling several options as to what I should major in for next year. I’m pretty sure I’ll be doing Econ, but I also want to try to double major (or at least minor) in something I am passionate in.

I love literature and think it would be cool to do something like that for my double major. I was thinking about taking a more practical approach in majoring in French. I’ve been taking the language for going on six years in high school and middle school now so I have a pretty good background in it. My big question is whether the work is more about tests and exams or essays and reading assignment? I certainly prefer the latter and if its only going to be quizzes on grammar conjugations and how to use the subjunctive — I might consider just majoring in English.

If anyone can comment on this with their experience or knowledge, that would be very much appreciated, thanks!

If I’m understanding correctly your question is whether French classes in college are measured by quizzes on grammar, that sort of thing. Or if French classes ask you to produce essays etc.

Each college will be different but generally the higher the level of the language class, the more likely you will be using that language in essays rather than quizzes. To find out about any particular college, you should locate the college’s handbook (google for the course listing or handbook–often a pdf that you can download). That will show you what classes are offered by the department. (Look up the French department). If you still have questions, it would be fine to contact an admissions person at the college and ask them directly. They will either do so or refer you to a professor.

Best of luck to you!