What schools should I look at?

<p>Hello, I'm interested in knowing what type of schools I should be looking at.</p>

<p>School Type: Ny Prep</p>

<p>Race: Black Hispanic (Puerto Rican and Panamanian)</p>

<p>Gender: Male</p>

<p>ECs: Decent (Council, Track, Diversity Club, Tutoring, Graphic Design etc)</p>

<p>Hooks: Low Income/ First Gen</p>

<p>Major: Biology, Sociology, Political Science, Genetics, Criminology</p>

<p>PSAT: 165 (No Prep/Sophomore)</p>

<p>Gpa: B/B+ Average</p>

<p>Is there any other info I should put here. I'm a sophomore so I think I have a fair amount of time.</p>

<p>Excuse me for the typos. My phone’s keyboard is messed up.</p>

<p>Generally, I am interested in the Social Sciences and Biomedical Sciences, including History.</p>

<p>What are your preferences in a college:</p>

<p>size (LAC, mid-sized, large)
location (region of the country; rural/urban/suburban)
atmosphere (eg. Greek influence, activist, etc.)
any other important characteristics?</p>

<p>I don’t really have a size preference. I would like to stay in the east. I don’t care for the Greek Influence. Schools where the student body are uptodate with politics would be a plus.</p>

<p>I really like Amherst. I can raise my grades and study hard for SAT/ACT, but I highly doubt I can get in.</p>

<p>I would like urban or suburban, but I wouldn’t mind rural.</p>

<p>That’s the wrong type of attitude to have when applying to a college such as Amherst. Although it’s good that you acknowledge how selective Amherst is, you should not allow that to discourage you from applying. You yourself said you could raise your grades and study for the SAT/ACT, and that’s all that matters: how much effort you put in.</p>