What Should I Do?

Hello. I am currently a low-income student and am super grateful to have received the aid that I did to attend my current college. It is a great help and one of the reasons why I was able to pursue a higher education in the first place. I recently met a classmate who claims to be low-income on her college and internet profiles and has received substantial aid from this. However, this does not seem to be the case in person (e.g. expensive clothes, frequent vacations, new tech items). Though I don’t know her enough personally to understand her family background or situation, morally, I find this a bit disturbing to see scholarships go to people who don’t seem to need it. I know this is a social issue that may never fully be solved, but I want to know what I can do now to prevent things like this from happening to other students who are truly in need. Thank you.

You have no idea how much aid or what type of aid another is getting regardless of what they lead you to think. Nor is it your business.

You should be a good student, worrying about yourself.

And do nothing related to this other student - it’s not your business.

Good luck.

15 Likes

I agree with the previous poster that you do not truly know how much financial aid and merit this student receives, nor their actual level of need.

You also don’t know how much debt this student, or their family, may be carrying (credit cards, car loans, mortgage, personal loans, etc.) in order to finance their way of life.

When it comes to judging someone else’s financial health and stability, things are not always as they appear outwardly. And, most people would be offended if you comment on their spending habits. This is true well beyond college. People just tend to mind their own business when it comes to another person’s financial decisions and priorities.

5 Likes

This!

2 Likes

It’s none of your business. Stay out of it.

1 Like