What's it like being Asian at Texas A&M?

I’m an Asian who’s aspiring to go to Texas A&M. However I feel like since they have a relatively low Asian population in what seems to be a predominantly whitewashed school I’ll be considered like almost an outsider? This is especially so because I want to pursue construction science and most of the Asians at A&M are in engineering. I want to know more about the diversity here and how life is like at A&M for those that are not white.

@langerfyre - That’s pretty pejorative calling Texas A&M “whitewashed” This implies that its racial profile was deliberately determined by excluding minorities. I will be charitable and assume that you didn’t set out to be insulting. Anyway, minorities make up 1/3 of the student body. About 21% are Hispanic, 6% Asian, and 3% Black. Texas’s demographics are not like California; only about 3% of Texans identify themselves as Asian.

I am a parent, so I have no first-hand experience. My son is one of the 3% OOS TAMU students but not Asian. He has fit in well. On our campus visit before college, I did notice that there were not very many Asian students until we got up to the Engineering part of campus.

Have you visited? You might also try contacting some of the organizations listed on this page: https://stuactonline.tamu.edu/app/search/index?search=category&q=Cultural/International

@Beaudreau Sorry I didn’t mean to disparage I was just trying to express how predominant the white population is at TAMU. And no I haven’t visited yet but I’m planning to attend an educational camp there over the summer. I’ve heard that the people there are very nice but I’m just hoping that I will be able to fit in well there.