What's TAMU like during the summer?

Hi, I’m an undergraduate at Haverford College in PA and I will be doing research this summer at TAMU. I’m wondering what the culture is like and what kinds of things I can expect to be doing for fun. Can someone who’s been at TAMU during the summer tell me what their experience was like? Is campus nearly empty? Will there be people for pickup games of frisbee or soccer or something? Will there be parties? Will football and and the corps be big parts of the culture like they are during the year?

@Broses: Wow! That is great to hear that you will be in CStat conducting research at TAMU during the Summer. What a wonderful opportunity!

I don’t live in CStat, but have a daughter who graduated in 2016 and a daughter who is currently a Sophomore. Both of them mentioned that everything is pretty quiet during the Summer and between regular semesters, compared to football weekends in the Fall. (Back in my day at a big OOS Uni in a Capitol city, we joked that they rolled up the sidewalks during the Summer when both school and the State government were not in session!)

BUT, there will still be people around. Aggies are the friendliest people and all of CStat is full of kind, helpful people. First off, see if you can connect with others in your lab or the buildings where you work or live. The Memorial Student Center may have info on social events. I have seen frisbee games on campus whenever we have visited. I don’t know what the football team or corps activities will be, but perhaps there will be some practices where the public is invited, you will have to check when you get to campus. Perhaps the baseball team or other activities will be playing, just not sure.