Why is a nursing major so "difficult"?

<p>I am an incoming freshman at Bloomsburg University and am majoring in nursing. I've heard from a number of people who have gone to nursing school that it's very challenging, however I'd like to know what exactly is challenging about it and what I should prepare myself for. One current student from a different school told me chemistry was a difficult class and she had failed it twice. How would I go about preparing for that class and others that I may struggle in?</p>

<p>Although it varies by the Program/University, overall Nursing Curriculums have been becoming increasingly more intense in both their academic and clinical components as the Nursing Field is trying to expand its role/credibility within the Healthcare System as a distinct Healthcare Discipline providing high quality care to patients. Basic science courses such as biology and chemistry are commonly taught in the first year. In the past “toned down” versions of these courses where often given to nursing students. Now many programs require students to take the same courses as students who are majoring in biology and chemistry. By definition these courses are going to be tougher to pass or do well in.</p>

<p>The best advice I could give you is to study hard from the first class of the courses. Sometimes students starting college give priorities to other non-academic things (i.e. partying, etc.) and it is easy to fall behind (and then they find it is difficult to catch up). If you begin to have problems with a course contact your professors ASAP and follow any directions/advice they might give you. Also many universities have “help centers” where students can go to request help with courses they are having problems with. This could include indivdual or group tutoring or other things. The key is getting help as early as possible as soon as you feel you are having difficulties with a course. Hope this info is helpful.</p>