Will lack of EC's hurt my application!?

<p>Hi i am an AA student that recently completed the IGCSE diploma. </p>

<p>IGCSE is slightly more difficult that British GCSE and easier than IB. </p>

<p>I received the following results: (A<em>= American A+)
English as a second language: A</em>
English as a first language: A*
Biology: A*
Economics: A*
Math: A
Physics: A
Chemistry: A
Business Studies: A
ICT (Information and communication tech): A</p>

<p>In our system the only grades that are recorded are final IGCSE results.
Therefore these are the grades displayed on my transcript. My UNW GPA: 4.0+</p>

<p>The British system is much more focused on academics. No one really cares about EC.</p>

<p>I do 2 sports (captain of one of them) </p>

<p>I was also a school prefect which is another leadership position. </p>

<p>I have between 50-100 volunteer hours. </p>

<p>Here in Nigeria there are very little opportunities for teens like myself outside of school and my school doesn't offer any. </p>

<p>Will this affect me badly? How do i explain?</p>

<p>Help please :(</p>

<p>While your ECs may not be the best, you’ve shown commitment. Just make sure you convey that to colleges. Let them know how dedicated you are to these activities.</p>

<p>@Mrluggs </p>

<p>Thanks for replying. How do you suggest i show this commitment? My EC essay on the common app is about being captain and what it means to me. I think it is a good essay.</p>

<p>My personal essay is about growing up in Nigeria and how it has affected me. Any advice?</p>

<p>Any and all help is appreciated</p>

<p>I like your personal essay topic. It’s perfect. Are you a member of any cultural organizations? Maybe you can talk about that.</p>

<p>I hope so :slight_smile: What specific topics do you recommend i cover in this essay?</p>

<p>No unfortunately not.</p>

<p>Write about how being Nigerian gives you a very different perspective on life/how you’d apply that in a college setting.</p>