Will taking Calculus 2 help me with the Calc. BC exam?

Hi everyone!

I’m a sophomore this year in AP Calc AB, and I was wondering about the difference between Calculus 2 and AP Calc BC.

I’m interested in pursuing something STEM-related as of now, although I’m not sure what yet, but I want learn concepts properly and in-depth and learn a lot in general in high school. I also enjoy math. I’ve been recently thinking about whether it might be a good idea to take AP Statistics in school next year, instead of Calc BC like I was originally thinking because;
a) Calculus is really important and a very powerful tool but its usage is more limited than Statistics
b) I’ve heard that Calculus 2 goes more in-depth than BC and is better for engineering and other majors that require the use of Calculus
c) The BC teachers aren’t very good at my school

If I took AP Stats next year in school, I figured I could take Calculus 2 at my local community college and take the BC exam. I also thought taking Statistics earlier on could let me delve into harder Statistics and help me get a better idea of how and where it’s applied. I would really appreciate if someone could provide insight into how the Calc 2 and BC curriculums compare and on whether the material covered in Calc 2 is enough to do well on the BC exam. Thank you!

As data becomes a bigger part of every area of study you will see it take a bigger role in college curriculums. Taking courses like statistics, computer science, learning Python or Matlab will give you a great foundation for college.