Will this course schedule change hurt my admissions chances at top colleges?

Course rigor is only one element of an applicant’s profile that AOs look at it but how much does one course matter?

I am a current high school student enrolled in the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme. I am taking higher level (HL) biology, chemistry and psychology with standard level (sl) A&I math, English, and Spanish. All HL classes are two years and it just so happens that these 3 SLs are also two-year courses.

I am considering dropping chemistry down to an SL (I would not take it this year), switching English to an HL and then adding a 4th SL in sports, health and exercise sciences (SHES). Would not taking two years of chemistry hurt me as a pre-med/science major applicant to selective colleges or is it impressive enough that I already am doing IBDP, have taken 1 year of chemistry and will have taken 3 IB sciences if I make this switch?

This thread only pertains to the course rigor portion of this. I know it will be incredibly difficult to switch English classes halfway through the program (for non-IB people, they are very different courses) but I am strong in English and my administrators/teachers have all signed off on this plan and said that while they wouldn’t do it for just anyone, they think I can manage it. Additionally it is not important to me that I will have less chemistry background going into college. SL chem is a great introduction course and I did well in it (A in S1, B in S2) but I know that even if I take HL chem, I will have to take the same general chem classes in college (my school’s average IB HL Chem score last year was a 2.5, most colleges require a 6/7 to waive any required classes or transfer credits).

Many schools want you to take the most rigorous schedule available to you. You can look in each schools common data set to see how important rigor is to a school. Section C7.

You should not take a level of rigor beyond your capabilities.