Willing to answer Questions about Baruch

<p>I am a Baruch Alumni and just toured Baruch. If you have any questions about the school, I would be glad to try to answer them. Some of what you may want to know will be found in the thread, “Consider Baruch for Business.”</p>

<p>I also want to mention something very important. All schools send out admit letters to more students than they want to admit because they know that there will be a certain amount of breakage. For the 2011-2012 year, they had an above average number of acceptances. Thus, they will be accepting fewer students for 2012-2013. Admission should be a bit harder for this year. Be aware of this.</p>

<p>I’m a resident of long island but don’t wish to commute everyday. What is the housing situation like at Baruch? What if you are a student of Macaulay at Baruch? Does housing tend to change?</p>

<p>eg I think they made a deal with another college for dorm space regardless of your major. Frankly, you might want to look for housing in Manhattan and share a house with people your age or get your own small appartment. Brooklyn would also be a good choice if you are near a train station. Craig’s list is your friend.</p>

<p>For what it’s worth, I too lived on Long Island and commuted via the Long Island Rail Road. It took about 40 minutes to get to Penn Station and I walked the way to Baruch. It was a good walk and I always grabbed something tasty for breakfast. You may, however, not want that type of lifestyle.</p>

<p>Moreover, I was in great shape having just left the army. Thus,the 20block walk wasn’t daunting to me at all.</p>

<p>You mentioned that admissions for 2012-2013 will be harder.
I’m about to finish junior year of high school in around 1-2 months and my GPA was a 3.3 until now but I’m afraid it will drop to a 3.0 due to my Architecture class.
Thus, my question is, what are the chances that I can get into Baruch?