Withdraw from CSULB and finish prereqs at CC?

Hi guys I have a bit of a dilemma. I’m a freshman at CSULB and I’m considering withdrawing from my CSU and enrolling into my local CC to complete all my nursing school prerequisites. I wasn’t a pre-nursing major my first semester at CSULB and didn’t know that I wanted to pursue nursing until the end of my fall semester. I’m in my second semester here now and I’m currently taking prerequisites for the nursing school here. The thing is, my dream is to go to UCLA’s nursing school. I know that it’s super competitive, but I’m driven and work hard for what I want. Also, I don’t think that the nursing school here at CSULB is one of my top choices.

I’m considering withdrawing from CSULB after I finish my spring semester and going to a CC because I figured I could do the same prerequisites at a lower cost and I wouldn’t have to pay for housing. I’d save thousands. I also feel like if I were to go to a CC, it’d be easier for CC courses to transfer to UCLA or UCI rather than from a CSU to a UC. I also know that extracurricular are a huge part of being a competitive applicant at UCLA and if I’m at a CC, I’ll be able to volunteer at my local hospital and maybe become a CNA, scribe, or MA and work for a year.

I spoke to a counselor at my CSU about my situation and she did mention that I could just take all my prerequisites here even if I wanted to go to UCLA, but I feel like she may be biased? The only thing that’s holding me back is if I were to go to a CC the upcoming fall semester, would I be considered a CC applicant or CSU applicant since I’ll have 30 CSU units the end of this spring? Also, would it look bad on my application since I went from a CSU to a CC and would the admissions board see it as me “taking the easy route.” I really don’t know what to do and this is kind of a time sensitive issue. Any and all feedback is greatly appreciated!

@Gumbymom could you give me some advice?

@Banker1 could you give me some advice?