Would love to hear more about Connecticut College

This beautiful and interesting college has very little posted about it on College Confidential compared to some other colleges of interest.

I would love to hear more about the intellectual environment, the social environment, the general vibe. Can any current or former students, parents, etc., add any commentary?

D19 and I are headed to Connecticut College this weekend (MLK 2018) and will report back!

Thank you. Although the ship has sailed for my son, who will be attending Williams next fall, I think that Connecticut College is wonderful and there should be more details about it on this site, so I look forward to your report!

My kid found it a little too preppy for her taste when she visited a few years ago. But as with all schools, YMMV!

I’m a CT resident. Conn’s reputation has always been very preppy, very elitist. I dragged my dd there because even though she wants out of the state for college, it does check all the boxes for her academically–she applied to somewhat selective northeastern LACs in suburban/rural areas. She liked the campus and everything she heard in the interview and tour (she’s planning on majoring in English and was very impressed with their program). But the biggest surprise to me was the students we met. I wouldn’t describe the school as preppy at all. Everyone we met was very nice/down to earth, and there was a wide variety of students there. It was a very pleasant surprise. In comparison to some of the other LACs we looked at and she applied to, it was one of the most diverse in terms of student body, and as I said, everyone was super friendly and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. It’s still not in my dd’s top 5 only due to it’s location so close to home, but I came away with a very good impression of the school.