Writing a Follow-up to Cold Email for Summer Research

Hello! I’m a current high school sophomore and I really want to do research with a professor over the summer so I cold-emailed a bunch of professors and plan to continue over the next month. However, some of the professors, even those who I emailed a while back haven’t responded yet. I saw a bunch of people online saying that professors could take up to a month to respond to cold emails so I’m not sure if I should send a follow-up email or not. I emailed the first professor a little over 2 weeks ago. Can someone advise on whether I should follow-up or not, and if so, what I should say?

It is fine to try but I would not send another email. It is unlikely that a college prof. would offer a research position to a HS sophomore. Remember they have plenty of college students who I expect would get first dibs.

1 Like

Does your HS offer a research class?

Have you talked to your HS teacher and/or guidance counselor and see if they know of any opportunities for HS students?

2 Likes

I agree with @happy1 about asking your teachers or counselor about opportunities. There are summer programs specifically for high schoolers, although application deadlines may have passed for this summer.

My kid participated in a summer program at our state flagship after her sophomore year. She found out about it from her science teacher… there was an application process and I believe she had to be nominated by her school.

I think this type of program is more realistic (unless you have a personal connection with a professor) and frankly more beneficial for a high schooler.

2 Likes

This was posted on another thread.

I’m a college professor, and yes, i sometimes run behind on answering “less essential” emails. Professors get hundreds of emails a day, so it is possible that in you will not even get a response.