You have Bing questions? I have some answers!

Hey all,

I’m a current junior at Binghamton and would love to help some people interested in the college find out more about it! Info not from website, journal or the school itself but from a current student. Hopefully my responses, in additions to others on this forum and on other sites, will help you in your search.

A little about me: Like I said I’m a third-year student at Binghamton and I’m enrolled in Harpur. I will be living off-campus soon, I’m involved in one of the professional fraternities on campus and also involved in a SA chartered group on campus. I initially during my college search did not want to come to Bing but after I chose it due to its price, I fell in love with the school and am very happy where I ended up.

Feel free to ask about classes, campus, downtown, greek life, offices, parking, weather, anything!

Can you rush into the fall semester? Or just the spring semester? I will be a transfer student and I am considering joining a sorority.

Also where are most parties held at? Newing?

And how far of a walk is it from Hillside to the lecture buildings? Is it too far to walk?

Most parties are downtown, at a frat or a house, but you’ll definitely find pre-games and stuff at Newing. There aren’t many full-blown parties in the dorms just because, y’know, they’re dorms and people live and study there and the rooms are the size of a dorm. You could walk to lecture hall from Hillside. It’s kind of a steep hill but not too bad. There’s also a bus that runs from Hillside to the union regularly.

treestumpgirl,

Greek life recruitment occurs during the fall and spring semesters. Anyone can rush and attend events, but you need to be at the very minimum a second-semester freshman, which is when I pledged, or a transfer student and have a 2.5 GPA in order to officially accept any bid. Being a transfer, you would be eligible to accept any bid if you are offered one.