"You're too smart to go into nursing"

<p>i'm a HS junior and i want to enroll in a direct entry nursing program in college, graduate and get my masters in nurse-midwifery. i really feel this is my calling. i'm a pretty good student, my PSAT scores were in the 92 percentile. when i tell some of my friends my plan some of them give me a look and say things like, "you're too smart to go into nursing," or, "don't you want to be a doctor instead?" </p>

<p>It's very frustrating! Nurses are very important members of a hospital, first of all, and nurse-midwives have master degrees. Maybe it's just my snobby community but around here people seem to think smart = doctor, stupid = nurse. </p>

<p>Does anyone else have this problem? How do you deal with it and what do you say back?</p>

<p>I agree with you completely. I’m a senior, and while I will do pre-nursing for a year and graduate with a BSN, I’m really sick of people telling me to go to med school. My mom got so mad at the people telling me this that last year on a parent survey for guidance she wrote a letter to the counselor- now I’m just being told what a great nurse I’ll be! :)</p>

<p>many threads on CC about this perception. here’s one…</p>

<p><a href=“http://talk.collegeconfidential.com/nursing-major/976037-why-perception-nursing-md.html[/url]”>http://talk.collegeconfidential.com/nursing-major/976037-why-perception-nursing-md.html&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;

<p>needless to say, we agree with you two 100%.</p>

<p>Didn’t see that post, cecilturtle.</p>

<p>I feel like many people are ignorant of the actual work that nurses do and the schooling they go through! And anyways, I don’t want to be a doctor, I want to be a midwife.</p>

<p>I was told the same thing 30 yrs ago by my bio professor. Brilliant people can still be ignorant</p>