Analyzing Wordle (may contain spoilers)

After seeing the other thread, I started playing Wordle recently. I enjoy the game and analyzed portions of the game using a modified version of a simulator I found on github. This post summarizes some of the results and contains some spoilers that could make the game less enjoyable for some.

STARTING WORD
Among all 5 letter words allowed on Wordle, the most commonly used letters are:

1. s
  2. e
  3. a
  4. o
  5. r
  6. i
  7. l
  8. t
  9. n
  10. u

The list above using all valid Wordle words. However, the NYT Wordle words are not a random selection of all available words. For example, they do not use plurals of 4 letter words that end in ‘s’, or words with similar types of ‘ed’ or ‘ing’ extensions. They also choose more commonly used known/words and have various other patterns. If I restrict the 5 letter words to NYT type Wordle words, places a strong weight on recent actual words, then the list changes to.

1. e
  2. a
  3. r
  4. o
  5. t
  6. l
  7. s
  8. i
  9. c
  10. n

In general choosing any word with 5 unique letters among the frequently used letters above will do well. I found the lowest average number of guesses with the following starting words, assuming answers are limited to NYT-type Wordle words.

1. ROATE
  2. PRATE
  3. SLATE
  4. TRACE
  5. ORATE
  6. CRATE
  7. REAST
  8. CARET
  9. STARE
  10. TRAPE