jewish students at Furman?

<p>My d is thinking of applying to furman. we are jewish, although not religious. we like diversity and have friends of all religious backgrounds. I have heard that there is a large Christian presence and nightly Bible study groups. this doesn't bother me, howeverm I do want her to go to a college with at least a small jewish community/activities and one where she won't feel pressured to convert. does anyone know if she would feel comfortable and fit in at Furman? do you know if there is a Hillel on campus?
thanks</p>

<p>My daughter attends Furman. She said there is a strong Christian presence at school. However there is no pressure to attend faith based events . An invitation may be extended, as an act of friendship, but as soon as you let others know you are not interested your choice will be respected.</p>

<p>I’m currently a student here and I don’t think that there is any pressure whatsoever. I think that it all really depends on who you surround yourself around.</p>

<p>My daughter is also Jewish and considering Furman. We took a tour this past summer and thought it was a great campus. Furman was not high on our list, but we took the tour because a family friend works at Furman and encouraged us to take a look. I’m glad we did. It’s a great school. Our understanding has been that there aren’t very many Jewish students at Furman, but there are some. Greenville is a nice town with a decent Jewish presence, though. Our friend told us that Furman is committed to increasing diversity, so that encouraged us to keep this school on our list. </p>