Lafayette, Kenyon, or Denison

Hello! Is there any chance someone has triplet sons who went to Lafayette College, Kenyon College, and Denison University and would like to share the different experiences they each had? Trying to decide between the three, would love input even if you don’t have a kid at each! Thank you!

1 Like

My D graduated from Lafayette a few years ago and had a fantastic experience there. She got a a great education (including lots of research with professors), found wonderful friends, and got into a top grad school in the field she decided to pursue. I think Lafayette found that balance where students are academically challenged but still can find time for ECs, research, friends etc. Feel free to ask any particular questions you feel a parent can answer. I have no first-hand knowledge of the other schools but they have strong reputations.

Can he visit the schools during accepted student day? I do think that especially for LACs it is important to find the school that is the right fit.

Congrats to your S on his wonderful options.

Thank you! Over spring break he visited all three. And you’re right, that was super helpful!

My daughter is a very happy sophomore at Kenyon. Rigorous courses, great professors, wonderful friends, opportunities to pursue her passions in theater, music and dance. Lots to do on campus. I don’t have first-hand experience with the other two schools but heard great things about them. Kenyon may be a little more alternative/less preppy than the other two, but this is based on hearsay. I may be wrong. Maybe looking at the specific programs your son is interested in will help make the decision?

3 Likes

Sort of like the recent Dickinson or Denison thread – these are all great choices, and lots of overlap, though some key differences.