UC Berkeley Campus Visits: Share Your Tips & Recommendations

Did you recently visit UC Berkeley? Share your experience with the community! Post your review in the comments below.

Some ideas for what to share:

• When did you visit?
  • Where did you stay? Would you recommend it?
  • Where did you eat? Did you try any local specialties?
  • How did you get there? What’s the best transportation mean to get to-from the campus?
  • What was the campus vibe?
  • What did you think of the dorms?
  • What are some must-see things in or around campus?
  • How were the school facilities?
  • Did you like it more or less than you thought you would? Why?
  • Did anything surprise you?

We’d love to hear any tips or recommendations you can share for people planning their visit!

We are local to UC Berkeley, so if anyone has any local-ish questions, I’m happy to try to answer them :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Happy to help as well. I have two boys there now, and I graduated from Cal in the mid 90’s. I’m on campus and in the town all the time.

3 Likes

Where does one park for a campus visit? Is there a guest lot somewhere, or do you just have to luck out with street parking? If one is localish, is it easier just to take BART to campus? Thx!

1 Like

Parking just about anywhere in Berkeley is notoriously bad. In my opinion, BART is definitely a better option. There are also a number of bus lines that go to campus, but BART tends to be a bit more efficient.

Edited to add that there are a few parking garages not far from campus. But still think BART is easier.

1 Like

Daughter and I will be visiting in a few weeks…anyone have great coffee shop or gluten free food recommendations?