Academic Integrity

This is a hot-button topic and one that cannot be adequately assessed from touring or visiting, so I’m hoping there will be some insight from posters on this site regarding the practice of academic integrity at certain schools. I’m not so naive as to think that there is a single college or university in this country where academic integrity is always practiced. What I am looking for is an undergraduate program where it is routinely practiced and cheating/using tech (ChatGTP) to bend the rules is not. I’d also like a school where a large proportion of the school does not turn a blind eye to cheating.

I’ve been a student and have parented students at both types of schools, and once a student is in those environments, regardless of the talent level of the students or the competitiveness of the program, we have found that the presence or absence of this practice affects the overall school culture.

I’m not trying to show judgement against people for using advantages available to them. This isn’t a judgement post. I’m just looking for the right academic culture fit for my student and I know that one where academic integrity is practiced routinely will make him most comfortable.

DH24 is deciding between physics/engineering and economics. He might minor in one and major in the other. He plans to get a master’s degree after undergrad. We are full pay, will consider ED. He’s open to everything from big state schools to small liberal arts colleges. He’s visited both and liked both. We live in the Mid-Atlantic but would be willing to drive up to 8 hours for a residential college.

What level of school is he looking at? At some schools, the level of upperclass work required is likely beyond where Chatgpt would be of assistance. For my DD’s recent physics p-set, it took the assistance of 3 grad students and one tenured professor all working together to figure out how to proceed. Why this was homework is beyond me.

1 Like