Am I a good fit for Hampshire?

Hi all,

I am a first-year undergraduate student looking to transfer for personal reasons you can read about here (http://talk.collegeconfidential.com/discussion/comment/17954948). I have a few questions about Hampshire and I was hoping some students/alums/parents could fill me in.

1. How LGBT-friendly is the college? If I came out, would students be accepting? Can I obtain gender-neutral housing?

2. How good is the financial aid?

3. How feasible is a science-heavy courseload at Hampshire? Is the science program in general strong and supported?

4. What are the disability services like at Hampshire? I had no trouble transferring my learning disability accommodations from my high school to my current institution - is Hampshire a supportive environment for people like that?

5. How is the campus vibe? Is it laid-back, high-stress, preppy, hippie, or something else? What kind of students does Hampshire usually attract?

6. Is alcohol/drinking prevalent on campus?

Thank you for taking the time to read my post.

• deepseafish

Hi - I can comment on a few of your questions. My son is a Div 3 student at Hampshire this year. Can’t quite believe he’ll be graduating in May!

• Hampshire is an extremely LGBT friendly place and if you come out, students would be extremely accepting, at least from what I've seen from my son and his friends. All of the housing is co-ed and even the bathrooms - in academic buildings and in dorms - are gender neutral.
  • I can't speak to your own situation but Hampshire's been very generous to us. The folks in financial aid are very helpful and - again speaking from our experience - have gone out of their way to be friendly as well.
  • Re: science - that's a question for the folks in the admissions area but given you can take courses from any of the other four colleges (UMass/Amherst, Amherst College, Mt. Holyoke and Smith) I'd think it would be extremely feasible.