ASU or UMass Amherst?

Hi guys! I am an international student due to start my first year in fall 2023. So far I’ve applied to several universities and have gotten admits from some, but my most preferred ones are ASU and UMass Amherst. Please help me choose the best suitable for me.

As of now, I have applied and gotten admission in the colleges as a biological sciences major, but I’m not sure if I would continue with that later. I would like to get a feel around, talk with people, professors and academic counselors before declaring a major at the end of 2 years of college.
I actually have a lot of passion for 3 fields-social sciences, applied biology and the humanities. With regards to these 3, which is the better college out of the two? Please let me know.

Till now, I have received $13500 per year as scholarship from ASU, while the scholarship amount has yet to come from UMass ; I know I will be getting some scholarship from UMass as well, but haven’t received it yet-its gonna take some more time.

Also, I come from a place where I am used to a lot of people around me. So with regards to that, will UMass seem smaller and dull as compared to ASU, which is said to be full of people and bursting with life?

Also, I have applied to Barrett, the honors college at ASU. The decision for that is gonna be announced on March 10. But supposing I do get into it, then how does Barrett at ASU compare to UMass Amherst?

I am quite an active person- I play a lot of sports and love to dance as well. So are the clubs at both these universities good for that?

I saw on several websites that UMass has had the best dining options for colleges in the whole of USA for some years now, while the food at ASU is pretty much okayish and basically fast food. Is this right? Please confirm.

1 Like