Audit Question

<p>How exactly does auditing a class at UA work? </p>

<p>DS took Calc III in the Fall of his H.S. Junior year from the local University (Distance, so mostly self-taught) and did extremely well. He is considering auditing the class this spring since it has been more than two years since the course, and he wants to make sure he’s still sharp. (I have a feeling he also misses arguing math with a professional…). So - does anybody know what he should do next? It’s probably the only semester he can fit this in.</p>

<p>momreads’ son audited a math class, so if she sees this thread, she probably could give you more info.</p>

<p>I do not know how auditing works, but I’m looking forward to what others know about this process.<br>
What is his major, and what further math does he have to take, if any? What math has he taken so far, or has he not taken ANY math since Junior in HS? Did he use AP scores for UA math credits? I notice there is 1 seat left avail in Honors Calc III class this Spring, if that is of interest. My own son took Calc III Fall Semester (after using AP creds to skip I and II), and did extremely well - enjoyed the class and professor. I bet your son will pick up right where he left off.</p>

<p>NRDSON is an ME Major with CBH and Math Minors so even with a fair amount of AP’s coming in, it feels like doing cat-burglar contortions in the laser light room - one misstep and, Kaboom! He aced Diff. Eq. as well as Calc. III Jr. year but no math SR. year. Ideally, he would like to attend only the classes and do only the work he deems necessary to brush up after so long. He might even decide after a few classes it’s not necessary. So - would auditing a class give him that kind of flexibility? (We all know how important flexibility is in the laser light room!) And - does he have to find a class with an ‘empty’ seat? Or can he just drop in on the professor and exclaim deeply - “I am here!” ?</p>