best schools for undergrad philosophy

<p>Is there any sort of comprehensive list for the best schools for philosophy at the undergrad level, or might someone have personal experience? I'm not entirely sure if I want to pursue it at this point, but I would like to get a feel for whether I'm looking at the right places should I choose it as my major.</p>

<p>And if you've come here just to tell me philosophy is useless, don't bother--I've heard it even from my own dad. :p</p>

<p>Best undergrad for philosophy
Analytical:
Johns Hopkins (the BEST, they have a very good department, and a solid undergrad education)
New York University
Yale
Stanford
Berkeley
Harvard
Rutgers
and all your big name universities</p>

<p>Continental:
Boston College (this one even has a 5 years BA/MA program!)
Penn State
Northwestern
DePaul
Georgetown (if you want to study theology)</p>

<p>I'm no expert, and I'm biased, so take this as you may, but I would think that schools which focus their entire curriculum and reputation on open-minded critical and social thinking would naturally tend to have great philosophy departments. The type of school I'm thinking of could be represented by the likes of Reed College.</p>

<p>What Brian Leiter, the man whose graduate rankings are the standard for better or for worse, has to say about undergraduate study:</p>