BSC118

<p>I recently changed my major from premed to engineering because I enjoyed my engineering classes and I am currently failing my biology class. After talking to my advisor I do not need biology. Is a W better than a C?</p>

<p>@bamagirl18, how certain are you to end up with a “C” if you’re presently failing the course? I took a “W” in college because I was worried about failing a course outside my major that I didn’t need to graduate (due to some AP credits). Will the “W” affect your ability to graduate in four years? Would a “C” (or lower) jeopardize any scholarships?</p>

<p>Also there’s no such thing as a premed major, is there? Are you an engineering student who was solely taking biology to meet your premed requirements? Did you have AP Bio credits you could possibly use now that you don’t need to take biology for medical school admissions? (Not sure if that’s possible once you enroll in a biology class.)</p>

<p>I was an engineering student taking bio solely for premed and decided premed wasn’t for me. And staying in biology would not help me in any form to graduate it would be considered an unnecessary elective. That being said I got a 50 on the first test. And even if I got 80s it would give me an C+ I’m the class. Is it worth it if I don’t need it at all and I’m gonna get a C or worse in? I guess I’m asking is it worth getting a W and saving my 4.33 GPA? I won’t lose my scholarship either way.</p>

<p>I’m assuming you talked w/ Engineering Advisor (not A&S advisor)?