Camp 1831 before Orientation?

I’m an honors student, and I’m considering doing early move-in on the 7th of August, three days of Camp 1831, and then doing Orientation on the 11th.

Is this feasible? Do I need to do orientation before moving into my dorm? Also, I’m an honors student, so would I miss out by doing non honors orientation? I would appreciate any guidance.

I can answer the honors part - you won’t miss much of anything by doing a non-honors orientation. Seats in honors classes are generally released at non-honors Bama Bounds as well (I think maybe in proportion to the number of honors students attending that orientation). There is usually an honors college reception during the Honors BBs, but it’s not a big deal. When my daughter and I attended it was really crowded and she didn’t have an opportunity to speak with any of the professors (there were some there but hard to meet because it was crowded). I wouldn’t hesitate to go to a non-honors BB if it’s more convenient for you.

No problem doing things in the order you suggest - that’s exactly what my student did.

But don’t believe what anybody tells you about seats being held for the later orientation sessions - it’s just not so! By the time my student registered, pretty much everything he wanted was closed. So you need to be prepared for that. Here’s what you do:

(1) Go to the prof ahead of time (for any class that’s already closed before your orientation date) and ask for an override. The prof may or may not agree.
(2) Sign up for anything at your orientation session, just so you’ve got your required number of credit hours.
(3) Then monitor the course openings like a hawk! There will be openings in every one of the classes you want - you just have to be paying attention so that you can grab the seat when it becomes available. (And the openings often show up in the middle of the night, so if you have family members who are willing to help you with this, so much the better.)