CBHP and ECs?

<p>How much weight is given to extracurricular achievements? To my knowledge, this is the prompt:</p>

<p>

</p>

<p>What I’m most concerned about is how much ECs play into admission for CBHP. I think I’m pretty perfect for this program personality-wise; I am creative, self motivated, and independent if anything at all. I’m teaching myself programming languages and just finished building a very, very bad search engine, I’ve been doing video editing for I guess 6 years now, I kind of do art (I’m good but I don’t really enjoy it anymore), I’m really good at skateboarding and a number of other insignificant, but self taught activities. I truly love learning and the process of teaching myself new things.</p>

<p>These all seem like small time ECs compared to what I think most other kids applying to the program would have…Does anybody have any insight? My numbers are okay for this program (97 weighted with a huge upward trend, 1560/1600 SAT)</p>

<p>I really want to do it because I’m an EE and I’m very interested in research.</p>

<p>I think you’ll be fine as long as you write a quality essay. It also is a big help if you do a campus visit and meet with Dr. Sharpe.</p>

<p>Hey! I’m an entering freshman going into CBHP so I may have some good advice to you in this area. It’s ok that you don’t have one big “volunteered in Ghana” EC. Your whole paragraph about teaching yourself programming and loving learning sounded great to me. Clearly you are self-motivated and creative AND an independent worker. PM for more advice, but I suggest that you discuss in your essay the breadth of your interests and your process when you find a new one. Ex: what sparked your interest in programming, how you went about teaching it to yourself. I could easily see a great essay start off with “I’m a dabbler” but show how you dive into each area you dabble in and how it reflects and/or shaped your personality.</p>

<p>Iterry gives excellent advice.</p>