Chance Me (A High School Sophomore)? VT Engineering Hopeful!

Hello Everyone,
I’m a high school sophomore currently living in the NOVA area (Prince William County). A few days ago, I met a VT alum at an engineering seminar at my school which had further sparked my interest in VT. I have been doing my research on many different colleges over the last year and I have definitely discovered a lot.

Anyway, I was going to kindly ask if anyone, if possible, would be able to chance a sophomore. I made an account just to have this question answered, and hopefully it is. I have been on this website numerous times over the past year and have seen that this site is a very good resource for pre-college students.

Note: I have not taken the SAT or ACT yet. I have taken practice SAT tests from time to time and usually score between 1700 and 1900. I do know about the redesigned SATs coming out in March of 2016, which is why I plan to take the SAT sometime during junior year. Also I have been out of the country for all of freshman year and so I have been taking some freshman courses this year.

Race: African-American

Intended Major: General Engineering (Mechanical Engineering)

Currently going to a very competitive, pre-dominantly white high school with many AP classes.

This is a list of class I have taken and plan to take over the following years of high school:

Middle School Classes (For high school credit)
Honors Algebra 1 - C (I didn’t take it seriously)
Italian 1A/1B - A
Italian 2 - A

9th Grade Classes (I was out of the country)
Computer Information Systems (Mainly a business/computer class) - A
Honors Biology - A
Honors Geometry - A
Honors 9th Grade English - A

10th Grade Classes (Current Grade)
Computer Math (Mainly Mathematical Programming)
Honors 10th Grade English
Honors World History to 1500 (9th Grade Class)
Spanish 1 (Mainly a 9th Grade Class)
Honors Chemistry
Algebra 2
Heath and PE 1 (Mainly a 9th Grade Classes

Planning to Take Online or In Summer School