Chances after deferral?

I’m a nova student who applied ED as a human nutrition and exercise major. Virginia tech is my top choice and has been for a long time please chance me after a deferral and any tips to increase chances from here would be helpful.

gpa: 3.75 weighted (somewhat low but 4.1 for senior year first Q)

advanced diploma with 5 ib courses

sat: 1210 (took once without much studying due to testing anxiety i know it’s low)

nhs and tri-m (music honors society)

lots of volunteer work including singing for nursing homes and putting on a concert for a group for disabled adults

started a kids camp to raise money donated to charities such as st jude’s and micheal j fox

4 years hs volleyball (2 on varsity)
4 years club volleyball

involved in choir and elected leader this year (have also served as a section leader)

I volunteered in vtech equine center’s foal watch program to nurse prematurely born foals

I experienced health issues causing me to miss about a month of school my junior year which impacted my grades. My counselor reached out to teachers and I worked hard to pull my grades back up however they were definitely impacted. Upon recieving deferral for ED at tech, I emailed my counselor and he suggested sending an email describing how tech is my top choice and opening up about my health issues/medical condition. If anyone knows if this would be a good idea please let me know.

ps. I’d also pay full tuition (I dont know if this changes anything but some people have said it makes a difference so just for more info)

thank you!

Yes full pay makes a difference for schools without "need blind’ admissions. So by Deferment do you mean you took a year off after NOVA and are now applying to VT?

no sorry I should have been more specific… I am a high school senior and applied early decision I just received the result a few weeks ago and was deferred.

I go to high school in northern va don’t attend nova haha sorry I just reread that