Chances

I don’t have a chance at University of Miami, not right now. But I want to turn that around – if I can! Advice please?

Basically, I’m in my second semester of my freshman year at a community college in California. Last semester I only took one 5-unit class and still got a C. I just didn’t put in any effort; I was finally 18 and out of high school, and just wanted to work, make money, and socialize. Whatever, I’m still glad I took it really easy that semester, for it gave me a chance to re-evaluate my goals and re-motivate myself. I mean, I wish I had gotten a better grade, cause having a 2.0 for that semester is going to bring my cumulative GPA down in the future to come.
This semester I’m taking Psyc 1, English 1B, Cinema, and Bio. I was taking math (I’m in elementary algebra, so the most basic level of math that will still qualify for university credit), but I dropped with a W. I also stupidly planned a week-long trip to Hawaii in the middle of the semester, which already happened, and my midterm grades ended up being a C in Psyc, and C in English (which is my best subject, so very disappointing), an A in Cinema, and a B in Bio. I’ve got around 2 months to get great grades for my second term and hopefully it will even out to something that can raise my cumulative to at least a 3.0.