Current college student appealing aid, looking for financial options

I am a rising sophomore at a private university and my family/I cannot keep up the high cost of attendance even after the aid they gave initially.

I was above average in high school but still not reaching my full potential (underfunded public school, dont come from a great neighborhood, had other stuff going on) I knew I didn’t have as solid an education as many at my college but was prepared to study hard and make it work. Instead, I found that I was the strongest in all of my classes, I maintain a 4.00 with relative ease and many of my professors have remarked about me being their top student. The reason seems to be that for the first time in my life, I have no outside factors, good educators, supportive academic environment, and I can ACTUALLY focus on school rather then whatever happened in front of my house or in the school hallway.

Here’s where my problem comes in, I was not evaluated as this strong of a student because my circumstances didn’t allow. Now, I am an asset to my school in the programs and endeavors I am a part of and driving my classes all while working, but I cannot afford this.

I have become so desperate I am considering emailing my dean or other higher administration (not to blame or plea) really just to see if there is any possible room for an appeal that isn’t advertised or just some way to avoid transferring from my school. They have a major retention problem and I figure they would want to avoid another transfer but I don’t know if they’d care in the slightest about me or my financial situation.

Equally frustrating is having a friend who obtained a full ride but barely pass or even shows up to their classes in favor of partying. Guess life really isn’t fair.

Any advice? Is this just my bed to lay in or do I have any negotiating power? Is it worth emailing?

2 Likes