Decker School of Nursing Transfer?

Hi Everyone! I applied to Binghamton’s Decker School of Nursing for this coming Fall. I currently attend the College of Saint Rose. I am a sophomore Biology student, but only claimed my major as Biology this year (sophomore year). I have a lot of friends at Binghamton that strongly suggest the school and I have done my research regarding the nursing program.

Freshman year at College of Saint Rose, my grades were not good at all. I did have a rough start my freshman year. Really didn’t enjoy my time at school, I missed home a lot more than I thought I would (I am also more mature now than I was last year, naturally). My gpa was a 2.9. I was a political science major because I had no idea what I wanted to do. I was playing on a competitive DII soccer team.

Sophomore year, I decided I wanted to go into nursing. I switched my major to biology and my gpa went from a 2.9 to a 3.5. Currently, this semester, I have a 4.0. I worked my butt off to change my academics for the better and I continue to do so.

I know the transfer requirement for Binghamton’s Nursing School is a 3.0, but I was wondering if I had a decent chance. My friend had a 3.3 at Oneonta and was able to transfer in. I also have a numerous amount of extra curricular activities. For example, I am in the clubs Colleges Against Cancer and National Science Association. I have started my own Fitness and Nutrition Club at my school. I am in the process of receiving my certification as a Personal Trainer. When I am home, I maintain two part-time jobs. I am volunteering at Albany Medical Hospital. I was on the women’s soccer team at the College of Saint Rose.

I will be SO happy if I am admitted, but I’m not sure I will be. I was wondering if anyone could give me any information about the application process, or when I should hear back from the school? I had all my transcripts and full application submitted by January 16th.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!!