Do I have a shot at A&M out of state?

<p>Hey guys, I'm a California resident and Texas A&M really interests me, because it seems to have a great campus, and also there's the fact that I have relatives living in Texas, not that it matters. I'll most likely be applying for electrical engineering, so I realize that it might be impacted. </p>

<p>I have a 3.2 GPA UW, but I've taken a rigorous courseload with just about every academic class being AP or Honors. By the way, does A&M recalculate GPAs differently? Do they give extra points for AP and Honors courses? I know schools in California, such as the UCs and CSUs do it, but that's off topic.
My SAT score is 1830(Math 630, Writing 610, Reading 590, for a 1220 total for CR+M) and I plan on getting a 27-28 on the ACT. I'll write numerous essays if I have to.
I got a 4 on AP European History, a 2 on AP English Language and composition, a 3 on AP Calculus AB, and a 4 on AP US History. I'll be taking AP Calculus BC and AP English Literature next year for a grand total of 6 AP Classes during my High School tenure.
I have a bit of volunteering experience, but it's not that much. I have a part time job at a local supermarket though. I'm in 2-3 clubs at school, but I'm not very active in them. I've gotten Honor Roll awards every year at school as well. I was on my school's Badminton team for a year too. </p>

<p>Thanks to anyone that puts any input into this thread! I really appreciate it.</p>

<p>As your major will be very competitive and your time to improve is now limited, the best way to improve your credentials is through test scores.</p>

<p>For weighting AP/Honors courses, check your school’s weighting policy. Generally schools will send off the weighted GPA/transcript to the college so that you have the best possible chance of admittance. A&M does not do the GPA calculation–your school does.</p>