do people take UM seriously?

<p>i applied University of Miami RD for my safety school and i got an acceptance letter like 2 days ago.. the uni seems really nice and all but.. do people take it seriously? cause it seems to have a rep for being a party school etc.. and just being in MIAMI itself.. it's like "hey, you graduated from miami? NICE. south beach and parties" ..but people kinda think twice about its academics. it's good to have some fun along with college work but is it academically considered a good school? i'm majoring Business and i don't currently reside in the US by the way.</p>

<p>is there any reason (apart from the weather) that i should choose UM over these unis:
1.University of Wisconsin-Madison
2.University of Washington
3.Boston University</p>

<p>is it better to having gone to those schools? i'm really having a difficult time deciding as i don't have a 1st choice, 2nd choice, or whatever.. thank you if anyone will please guide me on this!!</p>

<p>Miami has fine academics. In addition, they give preference to their undergrads for professional schools such as law and medicine. </p>

<p>In addition, it has the best school spirit and sports among the three that you mentioned. Also, it has FABULOUS weather. Remember, kids go to Florida on vacation. </p>

<p>The academics are certainly on par with Boston University and University of Washington. In fact, this may surprise you: Miami has the highest endowment among the schools that you mentioned.</p>

<p>I will, however, acknowledge that each schools has its strengths in certain departments. Overall, University of Wisconsin is probably the overall strongest academically; however it is a state school with lots of beauracracy. In addition, who wants to live in Wisconsin?</p>