Exchange Student

<p>Hi everyone, i'm an Italian student, attending first year master degree in "Management & informatics" in switzerland.
I have a chance to do one semester abroad extra-europe and i don't know wether i should choose Virginia Tech or University of technology, Sydney (AU)</p>

<p>My pros for VT:</p>

<ul>
<li>US universities still have some appeal on european curriculums</li>
<li>VT is a good university</li>
<li>I've always fantasized about US campus life (in europe universities have almost no campus)</li>
<li>Exams i must do in switzerland are covered pretty well by VT courses offer</li>
</ul>

<p>Cons:
- Blackburn campus is pretty far from big cities and generally airports, so travelling within the country will be more complicated
- weather is not going to be that good
- Ranking is not exceptional</p>

<p>Sydney UTS on the other hand is in the city center, 5 minutes walk from Sydney central station and 20 minutes from the airport plus 5 minutes from the beach :P, Weather is generally good, there's no campus "US-Style" but UTS has dormitories for students and some facilities, Ranking is similar to VirginiaTech.</p>

<p>Would any of you recommend me VT, if so, why?</p>

<p>Thank you
A.</p>

<p>If you have been living mainly in an urban area, this is your chance to experience quiet life in a beautiful campus setting.</p>

<p>If you are going to go abroad for just one semester, you probably are not going to have too much free time on your hands during the semester. Why not set aside time before, or after, the semester for travelling/site-seeing?</p>

<p>I already experienced Both, i did an exchange period in a small university in czech republic, my Bachelor university was downtown Milan, Italy (living downtown as well) and currently i’m in another small university in a quiet and small town…</p>

<p>Since i should start in september i will probably reach the US in late august for travelling :)</p>