Extracurricular leadership

Hello,

I had a question regarding leadership and extra curricular activities and leadership positions.

I’m an upcoming sophomore and I’m not exactly the most popular kid in school. So if I apply for leadership positions in clubs and what not. I probably will not get in. But I do have positions in other places such as patrol leader in boy scouts and host some events for the place I volunteer at. Do those match up to say, secretary or treasurer of a club.

Also. What If I theoretically explain how I demonstrate leadership skills and how that applies to my daily life , instead of just saying “I held a leadership position in so and so club.”

I want to go to either UCLA or UCSD

Thanks a bunch!

For Leadership, it is not the title but what you do in that position. Showing leadership in your daily life is perfectly acceptable. Also remember Leadership is only a small part of the UC application and not required. Grades, Course rigor and personal insight essays are going to have a greater impact.

I also agree that many club leadership positions are a popularity contest and adcoms know this. Embrace the leadership options outside school instead.

Best of luck.

I would add that UCs are focused first on GPA, test scores, course rigor far more than EC and leadership. Strong ECs and leadership won’t compensate for a below avg GPA.

Here’s the admission criteria directly from the UC system.

https://admission.universityofcalifornia.edu/counselors/freshman/comprehensive-review/

To be competitive at LA and SD, you will need a UCGPA above 4.2 plus decent test scores no matter the quality/quantity of your ECs. So, if those are your target schools, carefully select ‘hard’ courses in which you are confident you’ll excel. Spend more time on your GPA than your ECs…