Feedback on UW Engineering School

<p>How does UW's College of Engineering rank among other top schools in the county, e.g. Cornell, Georgia Tech etc.? Positives, negatives and any inside info that would help me make a decision.</p>

<p>I’m an Electrical Engineering student and love it here. UW Engineering ranks very highly among other top tier universities. What type of engineering are you thinking about?</p>

<p>Environmental or geological EGR.</p>

<p>Do your homework. Look at your proposed fields at schools that interest you. Check the courses required for the major. Check on the criteria for getting into the major. Notice courses available in it. Read about job placement and other departmental news. You don’t want the most highly rated by the numbers, you want the best fit for you. Many good schools out there likely to prepare you equally well. You need to evaluate them in the context of your lifestyle as well as the academics. College experience you can’t repeat.</p>

<p>^^thanks for vanilla response. accepted 2 weeks ago in EGR but other schools are under consideration. hoping for more inside knowledge re: enviro or geo.</p>

<p>You must have upper class standing to already be in the specific school. Why would you want to transfer? All incoming freshmen are admitted to the university as a whole, not a specific school/college. Once you are accepted to UW you need to fulfill requirements to get admitted to Engineering- some majors are competitive. Assumed you were a HS/potential UW student trying to decide where to go to college. You provide “vanilla” data, you get generic answers. It is always up to you to do the research- we are not a substitute for it (why would you trust online forums instead of your own evaluations, anyhow?).</p>