Good colleges/universities for criminal justice majors?

Hello! I am a sophomore in an early college high school. I am taking dual-enrollment criminal justice classes for my associate’s in criminology, however, I’m really stressing out because I don’t know which college/university has the best program. I know there’s still time to figure it out, but I want to start looking into it. Any suggestions?

2 Likes

What career path do you plan to pursue with a criminology/criminal justice degree?

2 Likes

What state are you in? It seems that most states have a non-flagship state school that offers a criminal justice major if you are looking at affordability.

1 Like

University of St Louis, Arizona St and John Jay are all schools you should research.

1 Like

Why are you “really stressing out”? what is the fear / anxiety that is the basis for your stress? “I want to start looking” is fine. “Really stressing out” is a red flag. It’s in your own interests to figure that out.

As for suggestions:

#1 As @GKUnion asks: *what8 is your goal? that will shape the criteria for the where

#2 Figure out what your budget will be: no or minimal debt is the goal

#3 Almost always, start with the university system in your state: it is likely to recognize more of your credits and be more affordable than any place else.

2 Likes

Sam Houston State University in Texas has a very good program and the cost even for out of state is reasonable.

1 Like

Hello! I’m still not sure yet, I’m still looking into it.

Texas.

Thank you, I will!

I believe that my stress comes from knowing my major but not my career, but thank you for sharing your point of view. I’ll try figuring it out.

Oh, baby: you are what- 16 ? give yourself a little time!