Graduate school

<p>Hello, I have a few questions concerning undergraduate and graduate degrees. First, for graduate degrees, which is better: prestige or specialty? For example, I’m looking into becoming a pharmacist. UCLA is one of my dream schools and is pretty prestigious, while UCSD has a school just for pharmaceutical sciences. Which one would be better as far as getting a permanent full-time job?</p>

<p>Right now I’m considering going to UCI and transferring to either UCLA or UCSD for the last couple years of undergraduate school. Do employers even look at/care about which undergraduate school I went to? Or is there more emphasis on where I got my graduate degree? If so, I might consider going to UCI for all four years. Also, I heard that if you go to one UC for their undergraduate school, it makes it harder to get into their graduate school. Is this true at all?</p>

<p>Thanks in advance. :)</p>

<p>"Also, I heard that if you go to one UC for their undergraduate school, it makes it harder to get into their graduate school. Is this true at all?"</p>

<p>This is something I've read at CC many times regarding the whole "prestige" and graduate school ordeal.</p>

<p>They are most likely to take someone with say a 3.8 GPA from UCI then someone with a 3.5 GPA from UCLA or UCSD. I believe GPA is the most important factor in determining your admission.. and prestige only comes into play when it looks something like 3.9 GPA from UCI vs. 3.9 GPA from UCLA... Then they would take prestige into consideration.</p>

<p>"Also, I heard that if you go to one UC for their undergraduate school, it makes it harder to get into their graduate school. Is this true at all?"</p>

<p>Yeah, unlike the privates, UC's don't generally like to admit kids who attended their undergraduate college. This dosen't necessarily mean it's impossible... I know several people who have been attending UCSD for 8 years (Undergrad + grad)... I just know it's difficult.</p>