Holiday Baking 2023

Since we have a new Holiday Appetizers thread, here’s the baking thread!

At Thanksgiving, I have so many food allergies and lifestyle choices to cater, I’ve started trying out new recipes on my friends and family, in advance of the big day. Yesterday, I made this Pumpkin Apple Skillet Cake from WaPo. IMO, it needs a little tweaking ie more spices, and perhaps a tad more sugar. But, with no dairy, it’s a good alternative to traditional pumpkin desserts.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/recipes/skillet-pumpkin-apple-cake/

2 Likes

I will be making apple pie for Thanksgiving. I used to be a pro at this, but I haven’t t made pies for a few years now.
I will be making a carrot cake for the kids who are coming to visit, but it likely won’t go with us to Thanksgiving dinner.

My D is baking for me this year (whoooo hooo). She’s bringing cinnamon maple iced blondies and I’m buying a carrot cake. I also ordered a bunch of things from a gluten free local bakery for those in our family who have celiacs.

For xmas, D and I will be making marzipan stollen for the first time and iced cut out cookies.

2 Likes

I make pumpkin pie (the crust from scratch) every Thanksgiving. We will only have the kids here this year so only H, SIL and I will eat it. (S and D won’t touch it). I’ll make a second desert, probably apple cake from a former coworkers recipe.

Since we have such a small group at Christmas, I don’t do a lot of baking. I do like to make a batch of sugar cookie cutouts and a batch of Black and White cookies.

1 Like

I am baking a “pumpkin” pie, from scratch – including, for the first time, the crust – using some Long Island Cheese squash that I bought at a farmer’s market.

My wife has made chocolate chip cookies for our kids, who are coming in for Thanksgiving; the cookies are in the freezer.

1 Like