How can I, as a sophomore, create a spike/theme in my extracurriculars?

I’ve always favored more humanities based stuff, but I didn’t make my Mock Trial Tryouts :frowning:

I’m a sophomore right now. I’m a black female.

1. Diverisity and Inclusion team (9th - Present) Co-President

2. Black Student Union (9th - Present) and I’ve been guaranteed a leadership position next year because all the seniors are graduating and I’m really active in it)

3. Internship with black District Assemblyman this summer

4. Recently elected Black Orginization’s Fundraising chair (last fundraisimg chair, the orginization’s current president, had a fundraiser that raised 16k+ and I’m confident I’ll raise more) (6th - Present)

5. First Violin in Youth Orchestra (6th - Present, most seniors make first chair or coconcertmaster)

6. Part of a School Group that requires you to be nominated by the Guidance Counselors/Applied for school’s peer leader program

7. Step Team (will probably make co captain by Senior Year) (10th)

8. I don’t know if volunteering as a counselor at an orchestra camp counts

Awards:

1. State naacp silver award for essay

2. State naacp bronze award for classical music

3. Procrasinating for applying for presidential service gold medal because I have a lot of volunteer hours

Notes:

I’m aiming for nationals/gold in the naacp award. I always learned that the scholastic art and writing has a critical essay category so I’m going to submit to that next year (probably about another issue that affects that black community). I feel like these are pretty good individually, but I don’t know if focusing on black issues is a theme/spike. I’m aiming for prestigious schools (legacy at Brown).

Do what you enjoy. Otherwise, it appears contrived.

4 Likes