How can I become a nurse working in the field of neurology?

<p>I am currently an undergraduate nursing major. I am very interested in the brain, and I want to help patients with brain injuries improve their conditions over time. I do not want to become a neurologist, but I do want to become a neurology nurse. How can I do this? What is the next step after I receive my BSN? Also, what are the main differences between what a neurologist and neurology nurse does? As a neurology nurse, what would I do and what would I not be able to do as opposed to a neurologist. I guess I'm also asking for the advantages and disadvantages over choosing to become a neurology nurse over a neurologist.</p>

<p>This forum doesn’t always have the best answers as few RNs post here. If I were you I might try posting on allnurses.com, a forum specifically for RNs and nursing students.</p>

<p>Good luck!</p>

<p>You need to determine which hospitals you work at that have neurology patients treated as a separate area. I have been an R.N. for 30 years worked at Stanford and interviewed then for the Neurology floor which was only half a floor of 15 pts and a Vascular Med surg floor. I went to work on the Med surg floor but to be honest, Med surg is a perfect first year base for any other type of nursing. </p>