How often do NMFs/top students get rejected from UCLA and Berkeley?

<p>I’m a CA resident with a 3.89 UW GPA (at a very difficult school), 2280 SAT (800 CR, 740 M, 740 W), and decent EC’s. I got a 236 on my PSAT and thus will be named a Semifinalist this fall and in all likelihood will be named a Finalist. I plan to take 2-3 SAT IIs but I can’t predict what my score will be. I’m curious how often people like me get rejected from UCLA and Berkeley? Those are my two top choice schools, but I have heard horror stories about students with near perfect stats getting rejected from one - or both - of them, and even some of the other UC’s like Santa Barbara and San Diego. (skip down to the bottom paragraph if you are pressed for time) </p>

<p>I used Cappex and Parchment to see a rough estimate of my “chances”, and neither gave me extremely high chances for either school (I got 57% for UCLA and 69% for Berkeley on Parchment [why would Berkeley be higher than UCLA?]… and I got something along the lines of “you look like a good candidate but might not get accepted” for UCLA and “you’re just average” for Berkeley on Cappex). I know neither of those websites are super reliable, but I’m still starting to get worried that my “match” schools might not be so perfect of a match. </p>