HS freshman looking for suggestions on how to get started in biology-related research

Good evening,

I’m currently a freshman in high school and I want to get into a T20 school. I plan on majoring in molecular Biology.

GPA:
4.0 unweighted
Classes
Drafting 1 Honors, Spanish 2, English 1 Honors, Math 3 Honors, Civics Honors, Biology Honors, and Health/PE
Awards
Nothing yet

Next Year’s Classes
AP Precalculus, AP Biology, AP Computer Science A, Honors English 2, AP World History, AP Environmental Science, and Honors Chemistry
Extracurriculars
This is where I am stuck. I would love to conduct some sort of biology-related research, however, I have no idea how to get started. Moreover, for competitions such as the national junior science and humanities symposium, I have no idea how I can achieve the information needed to make a sufficient project. I should also add that I am applying to the Army educational outreach program, however, I have gotten stuck on the personal statement section given that I do not know what I should input i.e. academics.

Thank you in advance.

Its going to be hard to get wet lab experience as a high student student. Most labs won’t accept anyone under the age of 18 for liability reasons. However I do know that some principal investigators (PIs) will make exceptions. You can try reaching out to local professors and ask if they need any volunteers.

The next place to try is your high school science department. Some schools (esp magnet programs) have labs that students can use for projects

2 Likes

Why do you want to go to a top 20 school? And top 20 in what? US News? Specific majors?

Agreed - talk to your teachers and / or local universities. There will be some paid summer programs you can do.

As a 9th grader, it’s not realistic to know what you’ll major in - yet but it’s a good thought.