I'm incredibly lonely and not connecting with people

<p>I’m a freshman living in RCS-North, and I’ve already had bad experiences with some people. I’ve lost several friends because they end up treating me badly when they find out that I’m liberal, I don’t really believe in God, and I don’t like the same music as they do. I’m signed up with several campus organizations, trying the whole religion thing by going to church, and living a healthy lifestyle. I seem happy to everyone, but I have periods where I really hate going here and I want to leave- Not to mention, living in a suite-style dorm is EXTREMELY lonely and feels like you are isolated from the world. I’m not Greek, and I certainly don’t want to be. I just feel like I’m not connecting with anyone on campus, and ever since I came home from Fall Break, I’ve been having meltdowns and have missed home more than ever. I don’t really like Tuscaloosa, either, but I’ve been managing and it doesn’t seem to be a problem.</p>

<p>I’m from the South, and that allows me to relate to a lot of people to some degree, but that’s about it. I’ve also met a ton of very nice people, but it never sticks. They don’t follow up with anything, I always keep going back to the same group of friends, and I’m starting to get sick of it. As a result of being so lonely and depressed, my grades have been slipping and I’ve been extremely hard on myself about my lack of achievement in my classes. I have been trying very hard in most of my classes and have studied for every test, but I’m not getting the grades I want. On top of that, I’m pre-law and want to apply for law school in the future. I feel like a complete failure.</p>